Summer Reading

MarySin eaterShackWhite

I have been doing some serious summer reading this year.  I have read "The Shack" by William P. Young; Black, by Ted Dekker; White, by Ted Dekker; Red, by Ted Dekker; The Last Sin Eater, by Francine Rivers; Unafraid:  Mary (Lineage of Grace series), by Francine Rivers.  All of the books were great.  I can't name a favorite, because they were all excellent.  The series by Ted Dekker was gripping and I couldn't put them down until I'd finished them all, and then when they were done I missed them!  The Last Sin Eater was incredible.  Francine Rivers is an amazing author.  She has such detailed writings, and is so good at it you feel as though you are there. 

Now The Shack.  It was a good novel, but honestly I was a little uncomfortable with how the writer portrayed God the Father, Jesus and the Holy Spirit.  It has been largely touted in Christian circles, and I'm unclear as to why except that it talks about Jesus.   Mark Driscoll, pastor of Mars Hill Church in Seattle said it best: "If you haven't read The Shack, don't."  I also read another review of it on another web site, and they clearly point out inaccuracies as it relates to what actually is in the Bible.  I told a friend recently that if you read it, it is a good novel, but to use it as to what God's nature is, or Jesus, this lacks biblical truth. 

I am curious as to what others opinions are on this book — whatever they may be — even if they contradict what I think.  I think it would be good discussion.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Author: Michele C.

First and foremost I am a Believer in Jesus Christ, the Son of God. I am a wife, a Mom, a young budding writer, and entrepreneur.

Leave a Reply

