What Am I Doing Now?

Proverbs 22:6 "Train a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not turn from it." 

The Kids at the beach 2008The Kids at the beach 2006TJ Birthday 007

I had someone ask me a couple of weeks ago, "so now what are you doing?"  You see, I used to lead a ministry at our church, Celebrate Recovery, and in May the Lord released us from it.  I did this for almost 4 years.  Since that time, we haven't gotten involved in any other ministries, and have been okay with that. 

We have a full plate as it is with our life.  I married Joe and his four teens in February 2007, and brought my daughter into our marriage as well.  So, we have 5 teenagers!  Yes, I said FIVE!  Four of them live with us all the time.  So when we got married, we were doing basically full-time ministry, working full-time (both of us), and trying to raise four healthy well-adjusted teenagers.  Not an easy task to balance all of the above.

Since we have not been doing Celebrate Recovery, we have had the time to minister and disciple our own children and their friends more than we had been, the time to get to know each other as a couple, and the time to build relationship as a family.  It has been an awesome and amazing time, and we are thoroughly enjoying every moment.  Joe and I both work full-time — he works for a feed store as the manager, and I work as a paralegal for a local attorney.  My hours alone can be 8-10 hours per day, and then go home and do dinner, take care of kids and house and husband.

You see, the advantage that some people have when their children are younger, or they are their own children, is that they have had a life time to build a relationship with them.  My children are my most important "ministry" at the moment.   Many evenings we shut off the tv, and pull out the Word and answer the kids' questions.  I never realized how much knowledge my husband had about the Bible — he's usually so quiet, but he simply comes alive when he gets into the word.  It's awesome!

I think people think that when they don't see you at church doing something, that you have fallen away.  This couldn't be further from the truth.  We are raising up our children in the way that they should go, so that when they are old they will not depart from it!  Thank you Lord! 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Author: Michele C.

First and foremost I am a Believer in Jesus Christ, the Son of God. I am a wife, a Mom, a young budding writer, and entrepreneur.

Leave a Reply

