Continued Possible Controversy

This is in response to a comment on our last post, and felt it needed to be put up front.  We have stated repeatedly — we have not said that T. D. Jakes is a false prophet or a false teacher — we have said that we are concerned with his some of his teachings and his view of the Trinity.  We are also not judging his heart.  We have quoted his own words from an article that he posted on his own web site.  www.thepottershouse.org/PH_about.html – check it out for yourself.  Don't just take our word for it, check it out for yourself.

This is not something that we have thought about lightly, and it is also something we have been very prayerful about for well over a year now, and the Lord keeps bringing it back to our attention.  We have consulted with other Christian pastors and leaders in the community, and they agree with us on this issue.  This was originally posted as a comment in response, but I am re-posting it here for those who are following this post so that they may understand where we are coming from as well.  I also do not believe that it will cause those to leave the faith.  I believe it would cause people to dig deeper into the Word, and draw closer to our Lord.  Our faith is in the Lord Jesus Christ, not some teacher.  Our prayer is and has been that it will cause people to go deeper into God's word, and search the scriptures out for themselves.  Dig in.

I have an excerpt from a book titled "The Complete Bible Answer Book" by Hank Hanegraaf on this very issue (not T.D. Jakes, but on judging teachings).  "Not only is judging permissible, it is our responsibility.  Nobody's teachings are above sound judgment — especially those of influential leaders!  Biblically, authority and accountability go hand in hand (cf. Luke 12:48).  The greater the responsibility one holds, the greater the accountability (cf. James 3:1)."

"First, the precedent for making right judgments comes from Scripture itself.  In the Old Testament the Israelites were commanded to practice sound judgment by thoroughly testing the teachings of their leaders (Deut. 13).  Similarly, in the New Testament, the apostle Paul commands the Thessalonians to test all things and to hold fast to that which is good (1 Thess. 5:21-22).  Moreover, Paul lauds the Bereans for testing his teachings (Acts 17:11)."

"Furthermore, while our Lord cautioned followers not to judge self-righteously (Matt. 7:1-5), he also counseled them to make judgments based on right standards (John 7:24).  In the context of his oft-misquoted command "Judge not, or you too will be judged," Jesus exhorts us to judge false prophets, whose teachings and behavior lead people astray (Matt. 7:15-20).  Thus while we are commanded to not judge hypocritically, we are nevertheless called to judge."

"Finally, common sense should be sufficient to alert us to the importance of making public as well as private judgments regarding false doctrine.  During the infamous Tylenol scare in 1982, public warnings were issued by the media and the medical community regarding the physical danger of ingesting Tylenol capsules that someone had laced with cyanide.  In similar fashion, when spiritual cyanide is dispensed within the Christian community, we are duty-bound to warn the public.  As such, Paul publicly rebuked Hymenaeus and Philetus whose teachings "spread like gangrene" (2 Tim. 2:17-18; cf. Gal. 2:11-14)."  (page 324-324 "The Complete Bible Answer Book" by Hank Hanegraaff).

Num 6:24-26 “The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD turn his face toward you and give you peace." '

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Author: Michele C.

First and foremost I am a Believer in Jesus Christ, the Son of God. I am a wife, a Mom, a young budding writer, and entrepreneur.

4 thoughts on “Continued Possible Controversy”

  1. Hi Michele and Joe,I was so happy to come across your blog and read it. I happen to agree with everything you have said. I also must say I do agree with Deb Smith on one thing,that is,(and i see from past posts that this is not your normal way of doing things) We cannot keep our eyes trained on looking for or seeking out false preachers and prophets and teachers. I have a friend who is always always sending me reports on every preacher out there that they can find to complain about and name a false preacher or prophet. It drives me Batty. I personally feel that our life as Christians, our work in the Lord is to simply bring people to the Lord and let him plant the seeds. My latest comment to my friend was please no longer send me these reports,some of the reports she has sent me were about some preachers not on tv who I happen to agree with on almost every issue they speak on. My point being that I see where Deb is coming from, and I also see that you, my dear sister and brother in Christ ,took a long time to consider saying anything about it. I have known for quite some time what TD Jakes thinks of the trinity and have decided that as much as I have liked hearing some of his preachings in the past, just cannot in good conscience listen to him.Now I have found your very good blog i will have to come back often.Thanks both you and Joe for this excellent post.Love in Christ ,Tammy L

  2. Thank you Tammy — that was very encouraging for us — we appreciate it. Thank you for "stopping by." 🙂 And no, this is not our normal blog posting — I much prefer to be an encourager, uplifter, share my struggles, my joys, my sorrows, etc., and allow others who may be going through the same to know they are not alone. This was one thing I could not let go by. Thank you again.

Leave a Reply

