God Said No.

And God Said No

by Claudia Minden Weisz

I asked God to take away my pride,
And God said, “No.”
He said it was not for him to take away,

But for me to give up.
 

I asked God to make my handicapped child whole,
And God said, “No.”
He said his spirit is whole,
His body is only temporary.
I asked God to grant me patience,

And God said “No.”
He said that patience is a byproduct of tribulation,
It isn’t granted, it’s earned.
I asked God to give me happiness,
And God said “No.”
He said he gives blessings,
Happiness is up to me.
I asked God to spare me pain,
And God said “No.”
He said, “Suffering draws you apart from worldly
cares and brings you closer to me.”
I asked God to make my spirit grow
And God said “No.”
He said I must grow on my own,
But he will prune me to make me fruitful.
I asked God to help me love others,
As much as he loves me,
And God said,
“Ah, finally, you have the idea.”

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Author: Michele C.

First and foremost I am a Believer in Jesus Christ, the Son of God. I am a wife, a Mom, a young budding writer, and entrepreneur.

4 thoughts on “God Said No.”

  1. I love this I received this some time ago and just got chills from it it is a wonderful poem.Miss you think of you often and wish you all ,blessings a plenty.Tammy L

Leave a Reply

