Could We Do the Same?

What would you do if you knew people you had brought into close confidence, your closest friends, family, were going to betray you?  How would you respond?  What would you do if the friends you had abandoned you for no apparent reason?  Or left you with no explanation?  Or began gossiping about you on why they thought certain things were happening in your life?  What would you do if you knew about it in advance?  Would you still be their friend before the betrayal or abandonment or gossip?  Would you forgive? 

 

Our example is always Jesus.  His friends betrayed Him, they abandoned Him, He was gossiped about, lied about, beaten, and so much worse, and Jesus knew in advance that these things would happen.  Jesus knew that it was Judas who would betray Him into the hands of those who would later crucify Him.  Mark 14:10 “Then Judas Iscariot, one of the Twelve, went to the chief priests to betray Jesus to them.”

 

Jesus knew in advance that Peter would deny Him, and He even told Peter so.  Luke 22:61 “The Lord turned and looked straight at Peter. Then Peter remembered the word the Lord had spoken to him: "Before the rooster crows today, you will disown me three times."

 

Jesus knew that His friends would abandon Him during the most painful time of His life.  John 16:32 "But a time is coming, and has come, when you will be scattered, each to his own home. You will leave me all alone. Yet I am not alone, for my Father is with me.”

 

Jesus knew in advance that He would die a most painful death on the cross for all of mankind.  He knew that it was His Father’s will that He die on the cross.  Jesus prayed in Luke 22:42 “Father, if you are willing, take this cup from me; yet not my will, but yours be done." 

 

Yet even as He is dying on the cross He cries out to His Father in Luke 23:34 Jesus said, "Father, forgive them, for they do not know what they are doing."  How is that for forgiveness?  He is being tortured, yet He is not thinking of Himself He is thinking of those who are torturing Him and crying out to His Father for THEIR forgiveness. 

 

Could we do the same?   Matt 16:24 "Then Jesus said to his disciples, "If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross and follow me."  What does taking up our cross and following Jesus mean?  Does it mean we will endure some of the same things that Jesus endured (gossipped about, abandonment, betrayal, lied about)?  If you knew this was going to happen, would you be able to say "God, not my will, but Your will?"  Look at what happened to the disciples.  Peter was crucified.  Paul was stoned, beaten, thrown in prison, shipwrecked, and eventually beheaded.  John the Bapitst was beheaded.    Do you think these men would say they had the full life that Jesus promised in John 10:10?  I think they would say yes.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Author: Michele C.

First and foremost I am a Believer in Jesus Christ, the Son of God. I am a wife, a Mom, a young budding writer, and entrepreneur.

8 thoughts on “Could We Do the Same?”

  1. This is a wonderful post! For anyone who has been a Christian for a long time and especially in ministry for any length of time will experience this to some degree.
    Keeping in mind that Jesus loved us and planned all of it while we were yet sinners – really helps us to keep on keeping on!

  2. I think that these things really help you to see where you are in Him. I've been through it more often than not, but I did not harden my heart and simply asked God to show me the lesson in all of this.
    It will give you the ability to love without restrictions and to pray that we are not doing the same to others. To be talked about, ostracized, etc..is very painful, but we are to give God the glory and praise in all things.
    Glory to God for being so wonderful and thoughtful to show us these things so that we can be more compassionate to others in the long run.
    Great post!!!

  3. Thank you Sheila! I was pondering some things yesterday, things that had happened to me recently, and the Lord brought me to that passage. Just a great reminder that He is our everything, no matter what is going on around us, and that He works everything for our good, and to constantly keep my eyes on Him and Him alone. Thank you for your encouragement!

  4. It is hard. I WILL to forgive, but it is a constant struggle, when I have been, and am still, falsely accused, and wrongly judged by Christian 'friends'. I just have to put aside 'feelings', and Will to forgive, and to love anyway. Jesus gave the key, when He said, "but I am not alone. My Father is with Me."!!

  5. very good! The thing that I find is hard is not talking about it with others — so as not to gossip — I will work through it with my husband, and have to make that choice to forgive — and then move on. Not always easy — and yes I understand where you are coming from. Thank you for coming by, and commenting — I'm greatly encouraged. Be blessed today! The thing I'm realizing too, is to make sure I don't do the same to someone else, as what has been done to me. Thankfully this is a marathon we're "running" and not a sprint!

Leave a Reply

