Prayer

Prayer.  It's not hard, but we make it hard at times.  There are tons and tons and tons of books out there on how to pray.  I remember going through a period where I was reading books on how to pray, and getting burdened down with all the techniques, ways to pray, prayer "formulas", etc. Finally, I remember looking up at the sky one day after feeling so burdened and I felt like I couldn't pray, and saying "Lord, it shouldn't be this difficult to have a relationship with you."  That still, small voice that I've come to know and love, gently says "it's not." 

I put all of those books away and went back to the basics.  What are the basics?  When the disciples asked Jesus to teach them how to pray, He gave them a model for prayer.  It's quite simple.  It's known as "The Lord's Prayer."  I started back at that point — literally.  (Matthew 6:9-13)

The way I have approached my relationship with the Lord is much like a relationship with a person.  In order to get to know any person, you have to spend time with them, talking and listening.  Prayer can and is a two way street.  Both listening and talking.  Your prayers don't have to be eloquent or well spoken because God already knows what is in our hearts and our minds, He just wants to hear from us and have relationship with us. 

Don't complicate it.  Maybe you've heard that saying "KISS" — "Keep it Simple Stupid".  Although I'm not calling you stupid  :-), I would say to definitely keep it simple.  God just wants to hear from you.  Talk to Him.  Tell Him what's on your heart, in your mind, no matter what it may be.  He can handle it.  I heard a story one time of a man who kept a rocking chair in his room, and when someone asked him about it he said that his pastor had told him to imagine Jesus sitting there so that it would make it easier for him to pray.  Whatever works for you to make it easier for you to talk to the Lord, please do it, share it with others, you may help someone else.  I pray the Lord blesses you as you read this, and would love to hear what helps you in your relationship with the Lord. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Author: Michele C.

First and foremost I am a Believer in Jesus Christ, the Son of God. I am a wife, a Mom, a young budding writer, and entrepreneur.

Leave a Reply

