Giving

 

Matt. 6:1-4 "Be careful not to do your 'acts of righteousness' before men, to be seen by them.  If you do, you will have no reward from your Father in heaven.  [emphasis added] So when you give to the needy, do not announce it with trumpets, as the hypocrites do in the synogogues and on the streets, to be honored by men.  I tell you the truth, they have received their reward in full.  But when you give to the needy, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing, so that your giving may be in secret.  Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you."

I don't know about you, but this passage of scripture convicts me to the core.  What are my motivations when I give?  What are your motivations?  Do we give so that others will like us, tell us how wonderful we are, what a blessing we are?  Or are we truly giving because this is something the Lord prompted us to do?   If we are truly giving because this is something the Lord prompted us to do, then we should be perfectly content to be anonymous and not announce it publicly.

In my study bible it states "if believers, whether laypersons or ministers, do good for the admiration of others or for selfish reasons, they will lose their reward and praise from God.  Instead they will stand exposed as hypocrites who, under the guise of giving glory to God, are really seeking glory for themselves."

It goes on to say in verses 5 "And when you pray, do not be like the hypocrites, for they love to pray standing in the synogogues and on the street corners to be seen by men.  I tell you the truth, they have received their reward in full."  (ouch!)

I don't know about you, but I would much rather be acknowledged by my Father in Heaven rather than by man and acceptance by man.  I know me personally, my motivations in the past have sometimes been to give or even volunteer for various church activities so that someone might like me, or think I'm worthy to be a friend to, or give me kudos, or even for acceptance.  I believe God is changing my heart and has changed my heart to be okay if someone doesn't like me, or a certain group of people doesn't accept me — it really is okay.   I don't have to volunteer for everything on the planet or give just because I don't want others to see me not giving, I will do just those things that the Lord prompts me to, and if someone doesn't accept me or like me based upon those things — that's okay.  

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Author: Michele C.

First and foremost I am a Believer in Jesus Christ, the Son of God. I am a wife, a Mom, a young budding writer, and entrepreneur.

2 thoughts on “Giving”

  1. The truth is that those who demand or criticize are concerned about how others see them as well. Unreasonable expectations usually come from insecurity about measuring up.
    Very seldom do I worry about not measuring up in the Lord's sight. If I am living to please Him, He really does know my heart. There are times when I want to please other people, but if you have ever been in the Lord's work you know that it isn't always possible.
    We do have the element of spiritual warfare when we are serving our Lord. We need to keep our spiritual armor intact and look unto Him, the author and finisher of our faith. He will work in the hearts of those to whom we are seeking to minister.

  2. Thank you — the Lord really did convict me recently of something I did, and it sickened me to my stomach when He did. Knowing how I felt at that time, I will do my best to not do that again! Blessings and love.

Leave a Reply

