Better times are ahead

This picture has nothing to do with this post.  I just liked it.  I really wish the color would have come out better.  The water literally had more a greenish blue hue to it, and was extremely beautiful.

Matthew 6:27-34 "Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?   And why do you worry about clothes?  See how the lillies of the field grow.  They do not labor or spin.  Yet I tell you that not even Soloman in all his splendor was dressed like one of these.  If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will He not much more clothe you?  O you of little faith.  So do not worry saying, "What shall we eat?  or "What shall we drink? or "What shall we wear?  For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them.  But seek first the Kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.  Therefore, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.  Each day has enough troubles of its own."

Is this not the best passage of scripture you have ever read?  I know there are lots of them, but the part that jumps out at me today is the first sentence and the last sentence.  Then in Phillipians 4:6 "Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus."

I'm a worrier.  I come from a long line of worriers.  I learned from the best.  :-)  I want to be delivered of worry this year once and for all.  For real.  I fret, I worry, and everything that goes along with it.  I hate that about myself.  I know it contributes to this illness.  One thing my mom told me recently that has helped is when something does happen that hurts me, angers me, frustrates me, etc., is to say inside "I don't care."  It's not that I don't care for real, but saying it helps me to not continue to worry on the issue. 

I also had expectations when I got married, and blending a family.  Blending a family is messy.  I mean, if you think about things you put into an actual real blender, and you hit the "ON" button — it gets messy in there.  I don't know of an easy way to blend a family.  I've heard of the term its like a crock pot.  It just takes time for everything to cook and meld together.  It also takes a lot of prayer.

I've also been dealing with a chronic illness, but finally got a diagnosis on Friday from my rheumatologist — he said that with 90% certainty that he believes that it is Chronic Fatigue Syndrome.  The reason he is not 100% sure is due to my response to prednisone.  So onward and forward to what is next.  So, reading these Words of God have given me comfort through this particular trial.  I don't know what is next, but I do know that God will never leave me nor forsake me.   

I'm learning a lot about myself through this process of blending a family and this illness, and things that need to be weeded out of my heart so that I can have more of Jesus and less of me.  John 3:30 says "He must become greater; I must become less."   This simply is not easy, and some times the pain in my heart is so great. 

I also love the entirety of Psalms 91 (hoping Holly you will read it), but the part that really resonates with me is verses 14 – 16 "Because he loves me," says the Lord, "I will rescue him; I will protect him, for he acknowledges my name.  He will call upon me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble, I will deliver him and honor him.  With long life will I satisfy him and show him my salvation."  To me, that is comforting.

You know, reading the written Word of God brings so much strength to my body.  Just reading and writing this out today has helped me tremendously.  My comfort lies in Him, and in Him alone I trust.  Romans 8:28 "And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purposes."  Rom 8:37 "No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us."  So good. 

Thank you Lord for your Son Jesus.  Thank you Lord for your grace.  Thank you Lord for your forgiveness of our sins.  Thank you Lord for salvation.   

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Author: Michele C.

First and foremost I am a Believer in Jesus Christ, the Son of God. I am a wife, a Mom, a young budding writer, and entrepreneur.

2 thoughts on “Better times are ahead”

  1. This looks like Deception pass. If I am right, the water is very beautiful. My grandparents live very near on Rosario Rd. So I used to do alot of bee bopin around there as a child.

Leave a Reply

