Turning My “Cranks” into “Thanks!”

This picture is titled "Good morning" by my good friend Jerry Renville.  Thanks Jerry.

I. Chron. 16:34 "Give thanks to the Lord, for He is good; His love endures forever."

Turn that frown upside down.  So the title is "Turning my "cranks" into "thanks!"  Why is that?  Because I was being a cranky butt for the last six hours, and just couldn't seem to shake it.  As I was running through my lists of things to be cranky about, it hit me, I need to turn this into praise.  I have so many more thanks than cranks.  I had seriously thought about blogging my cranks, and putting a warning on it so that others didn't have to read it if they didn't want the "verbal vomit."  Then I realized, that's not uplifting, nor of the Lord.  That's when this title was born.

God brought this to my attention this afternoon as I was driving back from Everett … to my job.  Thank you Lord for my job.  I saw an old friend standing at the bus stop, as I drove by in my car, and immediately thanked the Lord for my car.  It only cost me $1,200 and the car's name is "junior" (Mom and Dad's old car), but he gets me from point A to point B and he runs great!  So thank you Lord.

I then immediately thanked the Lord for all my kids, yes all 5, because they are healthy and doing well.  I immediately thanked the Lord for my husband.  He is such a kind, loving, caring man, a good provider for us, he's good to me and my daughter, and is so good to me.  I thanked the Lord for my house.  It has heat, a roof, hot water, food, etc.  I thanked the Lord for my job.  It is challenging, frustrating, rewarding, etc., at times, but it is what I've wanted to do since I was in high school and I really do enjoy what I do. 

I thanked the Lord for my boss.  I've worked for him for almost 9 years now.  Longest job ever.  He is really so good to me.  Since I got sick I had to quit, he had to fill my position (understandably so).  When things got tight financially for us, I emailed my boss and asked if he had any part-time work for me.  He made work for me, and has been continuously providing it to me since.  He is kind to me, and treats me well.  I thank God for my boss.  I've known many attorneys over the years, and they usually generally speaking are not good to their staff.  Been there.

God has also blessed me with some of the best friends I could ever ask for.  There are friends, and then there are friends.  I'm talking about the friends who stick closer than peanut butter to you.  :-)  Thank you God for my friends.

I have the best Dad, Mom and sister I could ever ask for.  They have been to heck and back with me, and still love me and want to be around me.  :-)  They're the best. 

So I'm turning my "cranks" into "thanks" today.  It was a process to get to this point, but I'm not going to focus on the junk, but on the blessings.  Thank you Lord for the change in heart.  I appreciate it.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Author: Michele C.

First and foremost I am a Believer in Jesus Christ, the Son of God. I am a wife, a Mom, a young budding writer, and entrepreneur.

Leave a Reply

