The Whirlwind of August

The month of August was a complete whirlwind for me.  The first week we took TJ, Zack, Hannah and Nicole out to Ocean Shores to Joe’s brother’s place, for a little mini vacation.  I was finally feeling well enough that we could do a little vacation.  We had a great time.  Unfortunately, TJ decided that it was a good idea to stand up in the canoe while fishing and he tipped himself and Nicole into the lake, along with her camera, her cell phone and his cell phone!  Needless to say, her cell phone and camera are both now at the bottom of Duck Lake! 

We did a camp fire on the beach one night.  We tried to do smores, but I’m not sure what happened to the marshmallows I bought.  They were all melded together.  The kids did the best they could!  We also did put put golf — I think Nicole won that round.  Did the arcade, and also even did the go-carts.  All in all, I think it was a success.  I felt good enough that I was able to make them breakfast and dinner each night!  It was wonderful!

Unfortunately, when I got home I got a call from my mom letting me know that my 86 year old Granny had taken a turn for the worse.  I immediately packed up and drove back down to Montesano.  I was thanking the Lord that I wasn’t working because it was due to this that I was able to spend the last week of her life with her.  I got some wonderful, precious time with her.  It has been very difficult, to say the least, because I was close to my Granny, but I am thankful she is no longer in pain and she is now in heaven with our Lord Jesus.

After her funeral, Joe’s work sent us off to Las Vegas for a garden convention of sorts.  He worked, and I got to park by the pool.  Neither of us gamble or drink, but we had a good time anyways.  I got some sun, and enjoyed the weather.  I also was feeling pretty good due to the dry weather, plus our airfare was paid for, our hotel paid for and our food paid for — who could ask for more!  Thank you Lord!

Then immediately after I get home, I unpack and re-pack and Hannah and I left for Eastern Washington to go and see John Mayer and Keith Urban at the Gorge.  What an amazing time and what an amazing concert.  God has so blessed me this summer.  Even with my Granny passing, I look at the time I got with her as a  blessing.  It was precious, and I wouldn’t trade it for a million dollars.  She truly was one in a million.  

God also blessed me by giving me a break from this illness for a few months.  The medications they have me on currently seem to be working for the most part.  I have more good days than bad, and for that I’m thankful!  God is always good, and I’m so thankful to my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

Author: Michele C.

First and foremost I am a Believer in Jesus Christ, the Son of God. I am a wife, a Mom, a young budding writer, and entrepreneur.

2 thoughts on “The Whirlwind of August”

  1. I just noticed my profile pic never downloaded, hmmm one more thing to figure out! AAAARGH! You may have noticed I am not much of a techie! I need to spend some time here at WP to finish getting set up, I have been putting it off cause things that fry my brain tend to make me procrastinate lol. Anyway sounds like you had a real fine summer Michele, especially the time you got to spend with your granny, isn’t it amazing how all things work out, God is full of surprises, I don’t know why we ever doubt Him!

    My summer was interesting at best, with a new grandson, I never thought I would say this, but spending alot of time at the race track, going back to my roots revisiting my old equine friends, L.A. trip for 10 days with my “ex” for lack of better words and than there’s the ongoing saga with Jeff, my head is left spinning!!!! All in all it has been…. ya, interesting and I’ll just leave it at that! Lol!

    Let’s do lunch or a movie or both soon!

    ❤ you
    !
    P.S. I still miss the warmth and coziness of Vox!

    1. Yes I miss Vox too! And yes, I would love to get together for lunch, movie or both soon too! Next week any time works for me …. how about you? I have a ton to talk to you about — please keep Joe’s mom in your prayers. She is in the hospital at the moment. I’ll PM you about what is going on. I love you Patts — I miss you! Love, Michele

Leave a Reply

