Being a Writer

beautiful sceneryAs long as I can remember I have always wanted to be a writer.  I remember being at least 8 or 9 years old, old enough to know how to write, and writing these funny, silly poems about a pig dancing a jig, smoking a cig.  I’ve loved books for as long as I can remember.  I even used to love to read the dictionary.  That is how big of a geek I was.

My Mom used to take us to the local library, and I absolutely LOVED those outings.  She would go upstairs to the “adult” section, and the downstairs was for the kids.  There were SO many books.  Books like The Diary of Anne Frank, The Boxcar Children, Where the Red Fern Grows, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.  These all fed my imagination and I could lose myself into these books, and would become part of the story.  I would lose myself for as long as possible in books.  I read all of the Nancy Drew and Hardy Boy books I could get my hands on.  I loved the thought of being a spy, spying, and solving mysteries as a child.

I remember the day I decided I was going to try to write.  It was a pathetic attempt, but it was my first try (other than the ‘pig dancing a jig and smoking a cig’ poems).  I remember it started out something like:  “It was a dark and stormy night.”  I went on to write more to that story, and even had drawn a picture to go with it.   I ended up sharing it with someone I loved, and they told me it was not good.  I’m sure they meant well by telling me it wasn’t good, but it changed how I viewed writing from that point forward.  All through high school I struggled with writing anything — any papers I had to write were always sent back to me with huge, angry red marks on them.  I was fearful of writing.  I would choke with fear each time I had to write anything, and forget about it if I had to do an oral presentation.

It wasn’t until I got into my second year of college that I ended up with a teacher (Business English), who finally made the language of English “click” for me.  Up until this point I struggled.  Where do I put a comma?  Where do I put a colon?  Where do I put a semi-colon?  I put commas everywhere.  This class and this teacher made a huge impact in my life.  I don’t remember her name, but I will forever remember her class.  I began to enjoy writing again.

It was a good thing that I began to enjoy it again because my profession required it.  I became a legal assistant to start with, and worked my way up to being a paralegal.  I did that for 24 years.  My last boss was the best teacher I had though, and through his nurturing and “patience” I was able to learn to write much better.  I feel a bit rusty these days due to the fact that I haven’t used this skill for a while, but I have a feeling I could get it back.

So my thoughts as I am writing this post is that I have a desire to write.  God put that desire in me as a wee child, so why wouldn’t I try to nurture that?  I don’t know where this journey will lead me, or if it will even lead me anywhere.  I am willing to try.  I turn 50 years old in five years and I would like to accomplish something that I have desired to do for many years.  So here goes nothing!

Author: Michele C.

First and foremost I am a Believer in Jesus Christ, the Son of God. I am a wife, a Mom, a young budding writer, and entrepreneur.

Leave a Reply

