Karma’s a Bitch

Sad_Eye_by_IdaMOYou’ve heard that saying before “karma’s a bitch”, or maybe you’ve even said that exact thing about someone.  Then there is the other saying “what comes around goes around” or “you reap what you sow.”  When someone has wronged us, our natural instinct is usually to think that “they would understand if they had it done to them” or “if they could walk a day in my shoes they would understand.”

One time a person hurt me so deeply I thought I’d never get over the pain.  I did want them to hurt as much as I hurt.  I wanted what happened to me to happen to them.  This was before I found Jesus — and no Jesus was not lost, I was the one who was lost.  Through prayer and reading God’s word I was convicted of my sin of unforgiveness.  Jesus tells us to forgive 70 times 7 someone who has wronged us.  We are told to love our enemies.  To bless our enemies.  This goes against every instinct that our flesh wants to do.  I realized that forgiveness was a choice, not a feeling.  So between me and God I made a choice to forgive.  No I didn’t tell the person I had forgiven them because sometimes I think that that is very demeaning to the person, unless they seek you out to apologize for the hurt they have caused you.  Forgiving them was for me and me alone.  It set me free.

Every time the thought would come into my mind of what this person had done, I had to remind my flesh that I had made a choice to forgive them and would move on.  It wasn’t easy at the beginning, but the more I did it, the easier it did get.

Several years after this deep hurt, this person was equally as hurt by someone else that they loved.  If I hadn’t made the choice to forgive this person maybe I would have relished in the fact that now they were feeling the pain that they had done to me, but I didn’t relish in their pain.  I felt their pain and did not want to see this pain in their eyes.    It did not bring me joy at all.  I was sad for them.

When we make the comment to people “karma’s a bitch”, we are essentially saying that we are hoping and wishing that they will experience what we have experienced so that they will one day feel our pain.  That’s not love.   That is revenge.  This is not what God has called us to do.  The greatest commandment is to love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul and mind, and love your neighbor as yourself.  Jesus also tells us to love our enemies, and to bless our enemies.

This does not feel natural.  This is where the strength of the Lord comes in.  With His strength we can love our enemies.  Phil 4:13 says “I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.”

Author: Michele C.

First and foremost I am a Believer in Jesus Christ, the Son of God. I am a wife, a Mom, a young budding writer, and entrepreneur.

Leave a Reply

