2015 Word for the Year — Embrace!

Embrace

Romans 8:28 “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”

We have all heard the Lord’s Prayer:  “Our Father, Who art in Heaven, hallowed be Thy name.  Thy Kingdom come, Thy will be done, on earth as it is in Heaven.  Give us this day, our daily bread, and forgive us our trespasses  as we forgive those who trespass against us.  Lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.  For Thine is the Kingdom and the Power and the Glory forever.  Amen.”

I learned this while I was still attending church as a little kid.  Immanuel Baptist Church in Hoquiam.  The full impact of that prayer never really got me until quite a few years ago.  I came back to Christ on September 4, 2004.  I was reading my Bible plus all sorts of other books about prayer, how to pray, what to pray, etc.  I remember at one point telling God “it shouldn’t be this hard to have a relationship with You.”  In that gentle, quiet, still voice, he replied “it’s not.”  I got rid of all the other books and focused on His Word.  When the disciples asked Jesus how to pray, He gave them the Lord’s prayer.

The part of the Lord’s prayer that is sometimes hard though is “Thy Will be done”.  I’ve found myself in the past praying that, and then bracing for what was to come next.  I’m sure I’m not the only one!  I’ve totally braced.  Then I had an epiphany when chatting with a friend the other day — don’t brace, embrace!!  My word for 2015 is “EMBRACE”. I pray the Lord’s will be done every day, so whatever that looks like I praise Him!

Each night I pray His will be done and each morning I pray for His will for that day.  I don’t worry about tomorrow or the future because He tells me not to.  He tells me not to worry about anything, and to pray about everything.  I’ve started doing that more and more, at the very moment that I feel worried.  He tells me not to fear.

If you read His word you will see that He tells His people ALL throughout the Bible “do not fear.”  So this is very common to man.  He tells us not to fear because He is with us all the time.  He tells us that He will never leave us nor forsake us.  When bad things happen, praise Him.  I’m not praising Him for evil, I’m praising Him because He is with me and He is good to me, even when bad happens.  When good things happen, praise Him.  Find something good in the midst of the trials you’re going through, and praise Him for those.  I’ve praised Him for the difficulties that I have going on because through those difficulties He has changed my heart about so many things!  For that I’m thankful!  I’m thankful for the trials I have had.  No they have not been easy, but with His strength I have gotten through them.

So EMBRACE each and every day and all He has for you because:   Romans 8:28 “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”  Amen

Author: Michele C.

First and foremost I am a Believer in Jesus Christ, the Son of God. I am a wife, a Mom, a young budding writer, and entrepreneur.

Leave a Reply

