Too Many Voices

talking heads

Luke 5:16 “But Jesus often withdrew to lonely places and prayed.”

Matthew 14:23 “After he had dismissed them, he went up on a mountainside by himself to pray. When evening came, he was there alone.”

Hebrews 5:7 “During the days of Jesus’ life on earth, he offered up prayers and petitions with loud cries and tears to the one who could save him from death, and he was heard because of his reverent submission.”

Of course, there is so much more to be found when digging in the Word of the time that Jesus spent alone with His Father.

This is what I’ve found lately is that there are too many voices out there talking, talking, talking.  We have so much available to us at our fingertips (literally) to watch teachers, television, read articles, read quotes, and it is overwhelming.  I read “this” article to see how to manage this relationship, or read “that” article to see how to pray, or read “this one”, or watch “that one” to hear God’s word being preached.  When really, all I need to do is to get alone.  Just me and Jesus.  That’s it.

I was asking Him the other day “what do I need to do to…..?”  (you can fill in the blank for whatever you may be going through, whether it’s healing, peace, joy, mercy, wisdom, etc., it’s all the same).  And what I felt from Him was “just you.”  I want “just you.”  “You and Me.”  “That’s it.”  Seems easy doesn’t it?

I don’t know about you, but I get distracted very easily.  I get distracted over lists I need to make of things I need to do.  I get distracted over the things I need to do (or think I need to do).  I get distracted by the television (well, my favorite show is on right now).  I get distracted by Candycrush.  I get distracted by Fakebook — I mean, Facebook.  There are  countless distractions pulling me away from Him, when all He wants is me.

When I first came to Christ (fully and completely) in 2004, I used to spend HOURS just talking the Lord’s ear off, literally about everything.  I was SO in love and so excited about this newfound relationship!!  He had made Himself SO real to me I could no longer deny that He was in fact REAL!  I was EXCITED.  But as any new relationship continues on, the newness wears off, and you get comfortable — maybe even complacent.  I did, and I struggle with that each day — making time for Jesus.  How awful is that?  I mean, He died for me, rose again, forgave ALL my sins, and just wants time with me.  Seems so easy, yet sometimes is so hard.

I am a work in progress and I am thankful for His grace and mercy each and every day.  I am thankful for the trials I have had lately that have allowed me to spend more time with Him.  I wish it didn’t take a trial to push me into His arms, but sometimes it does so I will praise Him all the more!

Author: Michele C.

First and foremost I am a Believer in Jesus Christ, the Son of God. I am a wife, a Mom, a young budding writer, and entrepreneur.

Leave a Reply

