Embrace!

embrace-definition1

In January 2015 I wrote a post titled “Embrace”, and it was about not bracing for what God’s will was for my life but embracing what God’s will was for my life.  I laugh now.  This year has been a hard one so far.  On February 9, 2015, I came down with an awful bacteria called camfylobacteria.  I won’t give you the gory details, but let’s just say I ended up in the ER severely dehydrated and in immense pain.  That took me several weeks to get over.   Before I was healed of that, I came down with a severe sinus infection.  This in turn triggered another type of infection, yet another infection, and then another bodily issue.  I was miserable!  Of course, all of these things triggered my ME/CFS or as it has been renamed to Systemic Intolerance Exertion Disease (SIED).

I pray each and every day the Lord’s prayer, and do pray for His will to be done in my life.  So if I’m praying His will to be done in my life, then why are all these bad things happening.  I don’t know to be honest.  What I do know, however, is that I have grown much closer to the Lord through all of this.  It has driven me further into His arms, and further into His Word.  So for that, I’m thankful.

Jesus warned us that we would have troubles in this life, but to take heart because He has overcome the world.  Our life with Jesus is not like Joel Osteen tells us (Your best life now) — that is a lie straight from the pit of hell.  Why?  Because it causes people to become false converts of Christs.  What??  I know, harsh, but truth.  If we come to Christ only for what He can do for us, and then bad things happen, then those people will fall away.  Bad things will happen in our lives.  If you read the Bible at all, you will see that all of the disciples went through major trials and tribulations.  Look at the Apostle Paul.  He was shipwrecked, beaten, and finally beheaded.  But you know what?  I think that the Apostle Paul would say that that was his best life now.  He had eternal salvation in Jesus Christ.

When we come to Christ, we are to repent and turn away from our sins.  Not go into the relationship with Christ expecting Him to make all our dreams come true like a genie in a bottle.  Jesus is so much more than that!  If we go into the relationship expecting Jesus to make this our best life now, we are going to be seriously disappointed.  We are to look heavenward, and we are not to love the things of this world.

Author: Michele C.

First and foremost I am a Believer in Jesus Christ, the Son of God. I am a wife, a Mom, a young budding writer, and entrepreneur.

1 thought on “Embrace!”

  1. I too have had a lot of hard knocks, health issues etc..in the past few years, Mainly right before I left the mainstream church in 2006 up until this present time. Like you all my trials have caused me to go deeper in the Lord. Gone are the warm fuzzies, but what is left is real and aligns my life with the truth. We have many trials up ahead, but the Lord will deliver us from all of them. Praise His glorious name!

Leave a Reply

