A Cause for Pause

surrenderA big pet peeve of mine is when people say, “God will not give you more than you can handle.” FALSE! Nowhere in the Bible does it say this. Believe me, I’ve looked.

When we go through trials, people want to say things to comfort you (understandable), and I’ve heard this many times “God will not give you more than you can handle.”  What has happened is that people have taken a scripture that is similar to this statement, and twisted it. The actual scripture is: 1 Cor. 10:13 “No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it.”

And when people say “God must think I’m a bad(***)” because of all they are going through. No, God doesn’t think like that of us.  If we are strong, it is only because He has given us strength.

In 2 Corinthians Paul talks about his thorn in the flesh.  Three times he asked God to remove it.  Paul explains his thorn in 2 Cor. 12:7-8, and why God has not removed it:  “To keep me from becoming conceited because of these surpassingly great revelations, there was given me a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me.  Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me.  But He [Jesus] said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My power is made perfect in weakness.”  Paul continues “Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.  That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties.  For when I am weak, then I am strong.”

When we go through hard times and we make it through them, it is only because of the Lord that we have made it through them.  We can do nothing apart from Him.  John 15:5, Jesus says “I am the Vine, you are the branches.  He who abides in Me, and I in him, bears much fruit; for without Me you can do nothing.”

Be careful about taking credit for things the Lord has done.  There are several examples of that in the Bible.  One memorable one is the story of King Nebuchadnezzar in the book of Daniel, or King Herod in Acts chapter 12.  This should cause anyone to pause.

In all things, give God glory.  He is the reason for our breath.  He is the reason we are alive.  He is the reason for all that we are and do.  To God be the glory, Amen.

Author: Michele C.

First and foremost I am a Believer in Jesus Christ, the Son of God. I am a wife, a Mom, a young budding writer, and entrepreneur.

Leave a Reply

